Woodruff County, Arkansas


Quorum Court

The Quorum Court is the legislative body of Woodruff County comprised of elected Justices of the Peace.

The Quorum Court has these duties:

  • Levy of taxes in manner prescribed by law.
  • Appropriate public funds for the expenses of the county in a manner prescribed by ordinance.
  • Preserve the peace and order and secure freedom from dangerous or noxious activities; provided, however, that no act may be declared a felony.
  • For any public purpose, contract, or join with another county, or with any political subdivision or with the United States.
  • Create, consolidate, separate, revise, or abandon any elected office or offices except during the term therefore; provided, however, that a majority of those voting on the question at a general election have approved said action.
  • Fix the number and compensation of deputies and county employees.
  • Fix the compensation of each county officer with a minimum and maximum to be determined by law.
  • Fill vacancies in the elected offices.
  • Provide for any service or performance of any function relating to county affairs.
  • Exercise other powers, not inconsistent with law, necessary for effective administration of authorized services and function.
Title Name
JP. District 1 Frank Swanson
JP. District 2 James Jackson
JP. District 3 Billy Immel
JP. District 4 Homer Reeves
JP. District 5 Charles Reeves
JP. District 6 Bill Crawford
JP. District 7 Paul Brown
JP. District 8 Harold Collins
JP. District 9 Wesley Carter III

County Courts

Woodruff  County is the 1st Judicial District comprised of Monroe, Lee, Woodruff, Cross, St. Francis, and
Phillips Counties.

Judicial Position Name Address Phone
District Court Judge-Augusta Jay Eldridge 210 Main St. 870-347-5656
District Court Judge-McCrory Jay Eldridge Edmonds Ave. 870-731-2041
District Court Judge-Cotton Plant Jay Eldridge Main St. 870-347-5656
Circuit Court Judge-1st Division L.T. Sims, II Augusta, AR 870-347-2391
Circuit Court Judge-2nd Division Richard L. Proctor Augusta, AR 870-347-2391
Circuit Court Judge-3rd Division Bentley E. Story Augusta, AR 870-347-2391
Circuit Court Judge-4th Division Kathleen Bell Augusta, AR 870-347-2391
Circuit Court Judge-5th Division Ann Beane Hudson Augusta, AR 870-347-2391
Circuit Court- Juvenile Officer Leroy Pulley, Jr. Augusta, AR 870-347-2391
Public Defenders Office Danny Glover Wynne, AR 870-238-2348